Weather: Partly cloudy, breezy and mild today with temperatures in the lower to middle 50s. Be advised that if you are traveling to the west tonight or tomorrow there will be considerable snowfall along and west of the Continental Divide.

It seems as if every time I get going okay with my life, I feel like some major crap happens and throws me into the pit. I hate to recount all the reasons my life sucks right now, but it seems that’s the only thing I feel like talking about these days. I don’t know if I do that just to feel sorry for myself, or to have others feel sorry, or if I just don’t have the brain capacity to ponder life’s finer moments. For now, I’m going to tell myself that I’m just not smart enough… but, truthfully, I think it really has to do with me feeling sorry for myself. I keep wondering if I need to see a therapist. Or take some medication, at least.

Have I mentioned how lonely I get? I wish I had someone to come home to. Yeah, the kids are great, but I miss having an ADULT to come home to. Who am I kidding, I’ve never really had an “ideal” situation in my adult life. The last two serious relationships I was in consisted of:

– a drug dealer (who is now in prison for a very long time) with serious mental issues
– a husband with serious mental issues and about as smart as a pin

I seem to notice a pattern here. Unless I can find a guy without serious mental issues, I’ll be alone in this world forever. Unfortunately, I’ll be 28 in less than two months, and no man (nor a divorce) is in sight. Damnit.

My parents are in town to meet their new grand-daughter, so my family gathered for Family Day this past Sunday. We had a surprise “baby shower” for C and Baby N! My mom figured out some crazy games we could play that were baby-themed, which we used to win some very cool “prizes” that my mom bought on an auction. For dinner, I had everyone bring something to share. We had an (Allen) Italian theme, which included: calzones/canolis, “Fred” (mac noodles with marinara sauce and meat), garlic toast, and green salad with veggies. For dessert: 7-Up Jello, Cheesecake bites, and various ice cream treats. It was SO MUCH FUN!! I sure miss having my parents here for family days.

This Friday, I’ll be having my last two wisdom teeth yanked. I’m planning on showing up to work, so we’ll see how long I last. My boss will be out that day, so I hope to have most of the important work done before Friday so I can “rest” that day. Yay.

My quartet is going to be coaching with Mike on March 10. Have I mentioned how thoroughly excited I am?! The coach we were supposed to work with on February 19 backed out on us at the last minute. Apparently, he forgot he was leaving for Mardi Gras the next morning… ??? What-evah. I don’t know him personally, so I didn’t really give a rat’s patootie what we did or didn’t do at that point. Secretly, I was glad we didn’t coach with him because M was sick that day, and I don’t like being out so late during the week. I’m so lame!

That’s about all I can think of at this point in the day. I’ve got a load of work to complete tomorrow, so if I don’t write it’s because I’m working my fingers to the bone… ow.

My lesson for today:
(S)He who requests everything gets nothing.

