So, life at work has been less than stellar for quite some time now. Granted, what I came from was far worse, but I don’t think this qualifies as anything close to heaven. I’ve been actively looking for another job for a few months now, and I’ve had two interviews. The first interview was with an airline here in town. I thought it went well, but the job ended up going to someone else. The other interview, I knew I bombed… not sure what my issue was that morning, but I never expected to hear back about it. I didn’t.

Let’s rewind to last week. I was working with a client on a time-sensitive project, so I was in contact with the Human Resources office nearly every day. (I had put in two resumes for this company, and notified the office manager to please take note of it. This was about two weeks ago.) I got an e-mail from the Director of Human Resources stating there was a specific position open that I might want to look at. I told him not to e-mail me like that (for God’s sake!) – and of course, I told him I’d be on the job board later that afternoon to check it out. When I looked at the description, I noticed it was something that would be really easy for me to use the knowledge I have gained in my current position and expand on it. Plus, I’d be able to get into Human Resources, which I’ve been wanting to do. I put in my resume immediately.

Within a day or two, I had another e-mail from the Director, asking me to please contact him so he could speak with me. After playing phone tag, I was able to finally reach him yesterday… and I have an interview scheduled for tomorrow at noon. Sweet.

