Growing up, I never thought anyone would want me.

I was always picked last for teams.  I was not pretty enough with my strawberry blond hair (according to magazines and pop culture, in general).  I wore glasses.  And, of course, I had blinding-white skin. I was never one of those girls who had a million boyfriends and, when I did have one, I dropped them like a hot potato when I got scared – scared of kissing or making out and scared of what other people might think of the boy I was with. I relied heavily on the consideration (or lack thereof) of my peers in my teen years, and even into my early twenties.

I still struggle somewhat, but I’ve found that these recent days have made me feel a little bit prettier again.  I’ve realized, with the help of my aunt LeAnne and my friend Beth, that you have to TRULY be comfortable with yourself and your body to attract men.  Feeling completely confident that you are a great catch and being patient helps, too.  Other things that help?  Doing your makeup and hair pretty.  Putting yourself where single men go.  Buying yourself some new clothes and earrings – doesn’t have to be extravagant, but making sure they are not t-shirts and sweatpants.  I try to make sure I always look my best when I go out, even if I’m just going to the grocery store.

This, of course, is easier said than done… especially now that I am a mother and putting them before myself.

What do you do to help yourself feel pretty?

