I just got off the phone with my very good friend, Beth. The last part of our conversation had to do with something that happened with me and D.P. this past Saturday: he was working and wouldn’t be home until 11 pm, so he told me the code to get in through the garage and then proceeded to tell me where the spare key is so I could let myself in if I got there before he did. I listened, but told him that I didn’t feel comfortable doing that. When he asked me why I didn’t feel comfortable, I didn’t have an answer, really.

Talking about it (just now) to Beth, I’m wondering if I’m a little scared at what that incident means. To me, it’s very serious that I have access to a house key. Maybe he thinks nothing of it – after all, Chrissy has the same access – and it’s not like he gave me the key itself. Beth noted that she forgets D.P. and I have only been seeing each other for about a month, and I told her I think he and I forget that, too. She used the word “comfortable”… D.P. and I are very “comfortable” with each other. Normally, I would think this is a very good thing. However, with my past of latching on too quickly, I wonder if I need to slow this love train down.

Something to ponder this week.

