Only 13 more days until my trip to Las Vegas! I can’t believe it’s really this close. Wasn’t it a short time ago that D.P. and I were simply talking about going? Time really does fly when you’re having fun.

We first began talking the night of January 8, 2008 and I was so nervous to make contact! I had previously given Chrissy my email address so D.P. could email me if he was interested. I’m so glad he did – we have had so many nice, meaningful conversations since then, and I have never been happier. I still can’t believe we talked for almost three weeks before we even met! There have been a couple of bumps since then, but I really feel like the most recent ‘bump’ has brought us closer… and I’ve never been so excited to have him in my life.

Not related to the ‘bump’ I just referred to, my mom emailed me the other day and said, “Please keep your relationship with Dave on the slow side? I am worried about you and how quickly you have acclimated to him. Please don’t be mad at me for saying that, you know I trust you. I know he is a nice guy, but I just wanted to say I am cautiously concerned.” I called her to talk about what was on her mind, and I think (I hope) she is feeling better about things. She is concerned because it’s the first guy I’ve dated since I was married, and I reassured her that I’m not moving in to his house and I’m not getting married. I’m finding it hard to really convey what’s going on here when she is on the other side of the country, so I look forward to when she and my dad will be in town and they can meet D.P. themselves. When I talked to D.P. later, I let him know that my mom and I talked. He wanted to make sure it was okay that we are still going to Las Vegas, so I told him not to worry about it. In fact, she was really excited the other day that we were going!

I have to keep in mind, though, that it really has only been about two months since we first started seeing each other. I had it in my head that we had been together three months, but while he and I were out last Friday I had a light bulb moment and realized that it was much shorter than I thought… looks like Beth was right: D.P. and I are comfortable.

I have to say that it’s so nice being with someone so (seemingly) even-keeled. I worry about him sometimes, about his health and stress and how he tends to internalize it all. I tease him that I want to see his ‘evil’ side… he’s seen mine, and I don’t think that’s fair of him to hold back. LOL D.P. really keeps me in check, though, and for that I am thankful.

