For Mother’s Day, my kids gave me candy, $40, and a card. I took them to church and then lunch at Einstein Bros afterward. They were pretty good (highly unlike them!), except E decided (very loudly) that the pizza bagel I had just spent five bucks on was ‘yucky’. I told him he would be very hungry later if he didn’t finish it.

The day got worse when D.P. found out his mom has cancer and possibly will be going through chemo. She had been ill recently, and had been hospitalized… D.P.’s dad said they thought they told him that the doctors said the mass they removed from her abdomen was cancerous. Not so. D.P. had no idea, and to find out on Mother’s Day was devastating to him. He asked if I was still planning on bringing over my kids for dinner and a trip to Wal-Mart, and I told him if he was up to it then I would come over. He was.

Dinner went fairly well. A little bit of mischievousness, but nothing too bad. The ‘fun’ part came a bit later, when we were at Wal-Mart. I can’t even remember all the craziness, but the one thing that was really horrific was when M decided to dash off when we were standing in line. I thought she was right there, behind me, and I was wrong. E and I looked up and down the aisles, while D.P. was waiting at the checkstand, and I couldn’t find her. I ended up having an associate page for help, and M ended up going back to see D.P. at the register. She had gone to the arcade.

When we got back to the house, the kids played in the backyard until they began climbing the six-foot wooden fence and trying to reach into the neighbor’s yard… and, it had to be the neighbor that D.P. doesn’t get along with. We had to leave… ’cause, by that time, they had worked me up too much for us to stay.

I cried a little that night.

