Last night, I went to D.P.’s house to have dinner. This was his night to plan what we would eat and what we would do… and I was very pleased in the end. Truth be told, I think this was the first night in a very long time (ever?) that we didn’t get all hot and heavy. LOL [Which I love, don’t get me wrong here… I just think it’s a nice break when we can fully concentrate on our relationship in other ways.]

When I arrived at 5 pm or so, I quickly realized D.P. wasn’t home. I called him on the cell and he asked if I was home. He meant his home. I cracked up on the inside because he tries so hard not to say stuff like that, and every so often he’ll slip. I told him yes, I was at his house, and he said he was almost there. I said I’d just let myself in. Sure enough, he pulled in to the driveway shortly after, and we talked in the kitchen for a few minutes before he ordered a pizza. While we were waiting, I helped him post an ad on Craigslist for a car he’s been trying to sell. When the pizza arrived, we sat down at the table to devour the tasty treat. Alongside the grub, we partook in drinking some ice cold Heineys… yum. The small talk was good, as always, and (of course) I busted his chops a little every time he’d say something wacky.

After dinner, we decided to watch Back to the Future. Classic cinema, I tell you. Classic. Plus, the hand-holding was nice. 🙂 When the movie was over, D.P. asked if I wanted to go for a quick walk. We didn’t have much time, so we didn’t walk the lake. Instead, we cruised the sidewalk for the next 20 minutes or so. LOL I asked him if he was still coming over for dinner next Monday, and he said if he was still invited he would. I asked him what the hell he was acting that way for. LOL Apparently, I hadn’t brought it up again… so he wasn’t sure if it was going to happen. Good Lord.

I didn’t want to leave, but I had to. I had been spoiled over the past few days… Saturday I saw him twice (I went over to his place in the morning to clean my car, stayed until lunch and saw him off to work.. later in the evening I stayed the night as I always do), Sunday I was there until he went to work after lunch, and then last night I was there for dinner. We talked about how we wouldn’t see each other until this Saturday (sad!) and we hugged very tightly. I honestly didn’t think he was going to let me go, but it was a nice feeling. He asked me to please call him when I got home and I agreed. Soon after, I got in the car and drove away.

I was so ramped up when I got home, I nearly talked his ear off… he finally started ‘winding down’ and I let him go so he could get some sleep. I left him a nice voicemail reminding him to keep the note I wrote him close by, so when he’s feeling grumpy he can look at it and hopefully it will make him feel better. I also reminded him that I am here when he needs me, for any reason at all.

Beth says not to give up, I am slowly winning. LOL

